Skip to content

Web Content Guidelines 2.2 launched yesterday

Posted in Accessibility

Yesterday the Web Content Guidelines 2.2 was launched as the official W3C recommendation web standard and therefore replaces the previous WCAG2.1. As there are some significant changes it is worth noting them.

4.1.1 Parsing is now obsolete and so has been removed from WCAG2.2. Parsing was introduced to ensure browsers and assistive technologies (AT) could accurately parse markup and content in WCAG2.0. However, HTML specifications and browsers can now handle parsing errors and ATs no longer need to as they now rely on the browser. As 4.1.1. is no longer needed for accessibility it has been removed from the guidance. See WCAG 2 FAQ | Web Accessibility Initiative (WAI) | W3C for more details.

There are nine additional success criteria provided since WCAG2.1. These are:

  • Guideline 2.4 Navigable
    • 2.4.11 Focus Not Obscured (Minimum) (AA)
    • 2.4.12 Focus Not Obscured (Enhanced) (AAA)
    • 2.4.13 Focus Appearance (AAA)
  • Guideline 2.5 Input Modalities
    • 2.5.7 Dragging Movements (AA)
    • 2.5.8 Target Size (Minimum) (AA)
  • Guideline 3.2 Predictable
    • 3.2.6 Consistent Help (A)
  • Guideline 3.3 Input Assistance
    • 3.3.7 Redundant Entry (A)
    • 3.3.8 Accessible Authentication (Minimum) (AA)
    • 3.3.9 Accessible Authentication (Enhanced) (AAA)

More details are available about them in What’s New in WCAG 2.2 | Web Accessibility Initiative (WAI) | W3C.

Comments are closed.